Student Paper Prize

About the Student Paper Prize

The EASIAM (East Asia section of SIAM) Student Paper Prizes are awarded every year to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) submitted to the EASIAM Student Paper Prize competition. This prize is solely based on the merit and content of the student's contribution to the submitted paper. The purpose of the Student Paper Prizes is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in applied mathematics or scientific computing. Each recipient of the EASIAM Student Paper Prize shall receive a framed certificate and a cash prize of US$300. Normally, up to three awards will be bestowed. All the applicants are allowed to give presentation in EASIAM. If one wins the prize, then he/she is allocated in the Student Paper Prize session. Otherwise, in a contributed session.


For this round of competition, the applicant must be a Ph.D student currently or a recent Ph.D graduate (within one year of her/his thesis defense on the application deadline) in universities of East or Southeast Asia.


To enter the competition, each applicant must submit (1) a short vitae including her/his list of publications and (2) the complete paper. In addition, the student's advisor must submit a letter that describes and evaluates the paper's contribution to the literature and the student's role in the publication.


To Be Announced.

Previous Prize Recipients



  • 1st prize: Qilong Zhai (Peking University)
  • 2nd prize: Xuelei Lin (Hong Kong Baptist University)
  • 2nd prize: Tomoyuki Tanaka (Nagoya University)


  • 1st prize: Dong Wang (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
  • 2nd prize: Pin Lyu (University of Macau)
  • 2nd prize: Yuuki Shimizu (Kyoto University)


  • 1st Prize: Li Luo (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
  • 2nd Prize: Tomoya Kemmochi (The University of Tokyo)
  • 2nd Prize: Byungjoon Lee (Seoul National University)


  • 1st Prize: Shun SATO (The University of Tokyo)
  • 1st Prize: Zhi ZHAO (University of Macau)
  • 2nd Prize: Phusanisa LOMTHONG (Mahidol University)
  • 2nd Prize: Kaibo HU (Peking University)


  • 1st Prize: Kensuke AIHARA (Tokyo University of Science)
  • 2nd Prize: Qinglin TANG (National University of Singapore)
  • 2nd Prize: Jiang YANG (Hong Kong Baptist University)


  • 1st Prize: Xiaohao Cai (The Chinese University of Hong Kong)
  • 2nd Prize: Wei Yang (Xiangtan University)
  • 2nd Prize: Yuto Miyatake (The University of Tokyo)


  • 1st Prize: Xuanchun Dong (National University of Singapore)
  • 2nd Prize: Zhenning Cai (Peking University)
  • 3rd Prize: Seogjeong Lee (Seoul National University)


  • 1st Prize: Yongyong Cai (National University of Singapore)
  • 2nd Prize: Lei Du (Nagoya University)
  • 2nd Prize: Chiun-Chang Lee (National Taiwan University)
  • 3rd Prize: Akitoshi Takayasu (Waseda University)


  • 1st Prize: Kensuke Aishima (The University of Tokyo)
  • 2nd Prize: Zuliang Lu (Xiangtan University)
  • 3rd Prize: Tomoyuki Miyaji (Kyoto University)


  • 1st Prize: Yucheng Hu (Peking University)
  • 1st Prize: Hyoseop Lee (Seoul National University)
  • 2nd Prize: Takeshi Fukaya (Nagoya University)
  • 2nd Prize: Hengki Tasman (Institute of Technology Bandung)


  • 1st Prize: Takehiko Kinoshita (Kyushu University)
  • 1st Prize: Takafumi Miyata (Nagoya University)
  • 2nd Prize: Ho-Seok Lee (KAIST)
  • 2nd Prize: Byung Hwa Lim (KAIST)
  • 2nd Prize: Naoya Yamanaka (Waseda University)
  • 3rd Prize: Ying Ying Zhang (University of Macau)


  • 1st Prize: Shipeng Mao (Chinese Academy of Sciences)
  • 2nd Prize: Yumei Huang (Hong Kong Baptist University)
  • 3rd Prize: Chien-Hong Cho (Kyoto University)
  • 3rd Prize: Alexander Shapeev (National University of Singapore)